India T20 World Cup Squad 2024: What can be probable Playing 11?

India’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad hype is high. BCCI, led by Ajit Agarkar, set to reveal the 15-player squad by April end, matching ICC’s May 1 deadline.

India T20 World Cup Squad 2024

The T20 World Cup 2024, co-hosted by the USA and West Indies, is drawing closer, and cricket fans in India are eagerly waiting for the official announcement of the national squad. 

Based on experience and consistent performance, some players are considered near certainties for the squad. These include:

  • Rohit Sharma (Captaincy Likely): Experienced leader and consistent performer at the top of the order.
  • Virat Kohli is back in form and his experience is invaluable.
  • Suryakumar Yadav: Currently in red-hot form, known for his innovative batting.
  • Hardik Pandya: All-rounder who offers batting depth and bowling firepower.
  • Ravindra Jadeja: Another valuable all-rounder with exceptional fielding abilities.
  • Jasprit Bumrah: Pace bowling spearhead with express pace and accuracy.
  • Arshdeep Singh: Emerging swing bowler with impressive performances.
  • Kuldeep Yadav: Experienced wrist spinner with the ability to take crucial wickets.

Selection Considerations  for T20 Indian Team Squad 2024

The key selection considerations for the Indian team in the T20 World Cup 2024:

Recent Form (IPL Performance):

  • The Indian Premier League (IPL) plays a significant role in player selection for the T20 World Cup. 
  • Players who perform exceptionally well in the IPL, especially in conditions similar to the World Cup venues (USA and West Indies), are likely to find favour with the selectors. 


  • A player’s fitness level is crucial for a high-pressure tournament like the World Cup. 
  • Players recovering from injuries or with recurring fitness concerns might be overlooked even if they possess exceptional talent.

Experience in T20 Internationals:

  • Experience playing in pressure situations during international T20 matches holds significant value. 
  • Players who have a proven track record of performing well in high-stakes T20 games will be strong contenders for selection.

Team Balance:

  • The selectors aim for a balanced squad: strong batsmen, varied bowlers (pace and spin), and reliable all-rounders.

Current Form vs. Past Record:

  • While recent form is important, the selectors will also consider a player’s past record in T20 cricket. 
  • A player with a history of excelling in big tournaments might be given the edge, even if their current form isn’t at its peak.

Teams Participating in the T20 World Cup 2024

The T20 World Cup 2024 will see an expanded format with a record  20 teams participating: 

  • Automatic qualifiers (based on rankings):
    • Australia
    • England
    • India
    • New Zealand
    • Pakistan
    • South Africa
    • Sri Lanka
    • West Indies (co-host)
  • Qualifiers from regional tournaments:
    • Afghanistan
    • Bangladesh
    • Canada
    • Ireland
    • Namibia
    • Nepal
    • Netherlands
    • Oman
    • Papua New Guinea
    • Scotland
    • Uganda
    • United States (co-host)

Venues for the T20 World Cup 2024

The T20 World Cup 2024 will be jointly hosted by the United States and the West Indies, with matches spread across two regions:

  • United States:
    • Lauderhill, Florida: Central Broward Park (expanded for the tournament)
    • Dallas, Texas: Grand Prairie Stadium (expanded for the tournament)
    • New York: Nassau County International Cricket Stadium (newly built, modular stadium)
  • West Indies:
    • Antigua & Barbuda (specific venue to be confirmed)
    • Barbados: Kensington Oval (host of the final)
    • Dominica (specific venue to be confirmed)
    • Guyana: (specific venue to be confirmed) (host of a semi-final)
    • St Lucia (specific venue to be confirmed)
    • St Vincent & The Grenadines (specific venue to be confirmed)
    • Trinidad and Tobago: (specific venue to be confirmed) (host of a semi-final)

T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule

The T20 World Cup 2024 schedule will see a two-stage format:

Group Stage (June 1st – June 18th):

  • There are four groups (A, B, C, D) with five teams in each.
  • Each team in a group plays all other teams in the same group once.
  • A total of 20 matches will be played in the group stage.
  • The Super 8 stage will consist of the top two teams from each group progressing forward.

Super 8 Stage (June 19th – June 24th):

  • The eight teams that qualify from the group stage are divided into two new groups.
  • Each team in a group plays all other teams in the same group once.
  • A total of eight matches will be played in the Super 8 stage.
  • The knockout stage will feature the top two teams from each Super 8 group.

Knockout Stage (June 26th – June 29th):

  • Semi-finals (June 26th & 27th): The first-placed team from one Super 8 group will play the second-placed team from the other Super 8 group in two knockout semi-final matches. The venues for the semi-finals are:
    • Guyana (specific venue to be confirmed)
    • Trinidad and Tobago (specific venue to be confirmed)
  • Final (June 29th): The winners of the two semi-finals will play each other in the final match at Kensington Oval, Barbados.
  • The official match schedule with specific dates and times for each group stage and Super 8 stage match will likely be released by the ICC closer to the tournament.

Go to GMR Homepage To Get Relevant Topics.

Leave a Comment