Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 – Schedule, Men and Women’s Group 

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024, the men’s and women’s team titles, will take place in Chengdu, People’s Republic of China, from April 28 to May 5, and the tournament, which takes place from February 13–18, acts as the Asian qualifier for them.

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024

At the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 in Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia, on February 13, 2024, Momota Kento of Japan participated against Min Htet Kaung of Myanmar in the men’s team group stage. 

(Cheng Yiheng/Xinhai). Following a four-month recuperation period, two-time Olympic champion PV Sindhu will make his competitive comeback on Tuesday, leading India in the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 in Shah Alam, Malaysia.

Two distinct events, one for men and one for women, are included in the badminton competition. Teams are used to represent each participating nation. The world championship bronze winner HS Prannoy will captain the Indian men’s team, while PV Sindhu will lead the women’s team. India each provided a team consisting of ten players.

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 India’s Schedule 

As per Indian Standard Time (IST)

February 14, Wednesday

  • China women Vs India women – 6:30 AM
  • India men Vs Hong Kong China men – 10:30 AM

February 15, Thursday

  • China men Vs India men – 10:30 AM

February 16, Friday

  • Quarter-finals – 7:30 AM onwards

February 17, Saturday

  • Semi-finals – 7:30 AM onwards

February 18, Sunday

  • Finals – 7:30 AM onwards

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 India squads

The men from India, who took home bronze in both the 2016 and 2018 competitions, are grouped alongside Hong Kong China and the People’s Republic of China in Group A. Malaysia, the reigning champions, are in Group B.

  • Men’s: Pruthvi Roy, HS Prannoy, M R Arjun, Suraj Goala, Kidambi Srikanth, Lakshya Sen, Chirag Sen, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, and Chirag Shetty
  • Women’s: PV Sindhu, Anmol Kharb, Tanvi Sharma, Gayatri Gopichand, Ashwini Ponnappa, Tanisha Crasto, Priya Devi Konjengbam, Ashmita Chaliha, Treesa Jolly, and Shruti Mishra

India’s singles responsibility will fall to Commonwealth Games winner Lakshya Sen and former world No. 1 Kidambi Srikanth, in addition to world No. 7 Prannoy. Sen and Srikanth have both lately had form issues. In doubles, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy-Chirag Shetty is India’s best option.

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 Men’s groups

PV Sindhu will compete in badminton again at the women’s championships after missing the previous season owing to a knee injury she sustained at the French Open in October.

  • Group A: China, India, Hong Kong China
  • Group B: Malaysia, Chinese Taipei, Kazakhstan, Brunei
  • Group C: Japan, Singapore, Thailand, Myanmar
  • Group D: Indonesia, Republic Of Korea, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia

The Indian squad also includes Ashmita Chaliha, who advanced to the semifinals of the Thailand Masters earlier in February, and 16-year-old Anmol Kharb, the current senior women’s singles national champion. In doubles, Treesa Jolly-Gayatri Gopichand will compete.

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 Women’s groups

There will be five rubbers in each tie during the group stages: two doubles and three singles. Each group’s top two teams will advance to the quarterfinals. Since there are only two teams in Group W, India and China will automatically advance to the knockout stages. Group X comprises Indonesia’s holders.

  • Group W: China, India
  • Group X: Indonesia, Hong Kong China, Kazakhstan
  • Group Y: Thailand, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates
  • Group Z: Japan, Chinese Taipei, Singapore

For shuttlers hoping to play at the future Olympic Games, the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 will provide vital ranking points for the Race to Paris 2024.

The Asian qualifications for the 2024 Thomas and Uber Cup, which will take place in Chengdu, China in April and May, will be conducted during the biannual regional team championships in 2024. Presently, India is the owner of the Thomas Cup.

Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 Venue 

From the group stage matchups until the championship match, every match of the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024 will take place in the Setia City Convention Centre in Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia.

Where to Watch the Badminton Asia Team Championships 2024?

The Badminton Asia Team Championships YouTube Channel will provide live streaming for every match throughout the 2024 competition. The Badminton Asia Team Championships are not being shown live on any Indian TV station.

To Get Relevant Topics. Visit GMR Homepage.

Leave a Comment